Vasantrao Dempo HSS celebrates Founder’s Day

Vasantrao Dempo HSS celebrates Founder’s Day


Vasantrao Dempo HSS of Arts, Science and Commerce, Cujira celebrated Founder’s Day to mark the 103rd birth anniversary of founder, Padmashri Vasantrao Sinai Dempo. Chief guest for the function was chairman of Dempo Charities Trust, Shrinivas Dempo while guest of honour was trustee of Dempo Charities Trust, Yatish Dempo.

Floral tribute was paid to the portrait of Padmashri Vasantrao Sinai Dempo by the chief guest and honour; MLA Antonio Fernandes; administrator of Dempo Charities Trust, Rajesh Bhatikar; sarpanch of St Cruz, Diksha Kavlekar; principal, Rupa Khope and vice principal, Rekha Gurrala.

Speaking on the occasion, Shrinivas urged recipients of the scholarships to have the determination to pursue their dreams. He told them to give back to society when they become resourceful. He added that commitment, passion, quest for knowledge, curiosity and hard work make one successful. He urged parents to not compare their children even with siblings.

The Santa Cruz scholarships for the year 2018-2019 under the aegis Vasantrao Dempo Education and Research Foundation were distributed to meritorious students of the village of St Cruz. The scholarships were in the higher secondary, graduation, post graduation and professional courses category. Scholarships under the ‘Merit cum Means scheme’ by the Dempo Charities Trust were also distributed by the chief guest to meritorious students, by providing financial assistance to pursue post graduation and professional courses.

On the occasion the school magazine ‘Vasantdeep 2019’ was released and a short film on the founder was screened.

State rankers from the higher secondary school, who topped the Goa Board examinations 2018 in science and commerce stream, Saavi Milind Natekar and Shivani Shirish Bhide, were also felicitated. Shubhechcha Mudras from DCT’s Dempo higher secondary school of science, Miramar was felicitated for scoring highest marks in class 12 science. Aman Govekar from class 12 commerce stream was awarded the best sportsperson, and Rianne Ferrao was awarded the Hiralal Raythatha Memorial prize for obtaining highest marks in class 10 and joining DCT’s Vasantrao Dempo HSS of Arts, Science and Commerce.