The Navhind Times Archive

TAG presents Lifetime Contribution Awards

Every year on January 2, Tiatr Academy of Goa (TAG), celebrates the Birth Anniversary of late Lucasinho Ribeiro – commonly known as the creator of tiatr. This year TAG presented Lifetime Contribution Awards (non commercial) to five veteran tiatr artistes and well-known tiatr personalities John Charles Fernandes, Joao Francisco Dias Piuxa, Hilario Braganza, Joao Carmino Braganza and Jeronio Damasceno Brito. The awards were presented at a specially organised function held at Gomant Vidya Niketan, Margao

Vice principal of St Alex Higher Secondary School, Curtorim, Chitra Afonso, a well-known tiatr personality was the chief guest. In her speech she congratulated all the awardees, and also expressed her disappointment on low audience turn out for tiatrs. “We have to find out the exact solution for the dwindling numbers of spectators for tiatrs,” she said.

President of Tiatr Academy, Gurudas Pilankar welcomed the gathering and congratulated all the tiatrists for keeping the culture alive for the past 127yrs. He also congratulated the postal authorities for releasing a postal stamp on Konkani Tiatr which is not seen any were else.

Member secretary, Cezar D’Mello proposed the Vote of Thanks. The function was compered by Agnel De Borim, and was followed b a Konkani Musical show by Crista Fernades and Milagres Fernandes and their group. Comedy skits were presented by Anita and Hortancio and their groups.

Share this article if you wish