The Navhind Times Archive

State BJP keeps its word to Sopte, Subhash




State BJP president Vinay Tendulkar on Wednesday disclosed that the party has decided to nominate Dayanand Sopte and Subhash Shirodkar as candidates for the by-polls in Mandrem and Shiroda constituencies respectively.

However, he said the party has not yet decided on the candidate for the by-election to the Mapusa constituency. Speaking to ‘The Navhind Times’, Tendulkar, who is also  Rajya Sabha MP from Goa, said the state BJP unit will convey to the central parliamentary board of the party by March 17 the names of the candidates for the three assembly seats as well as both the parliamentary constituencies.

“The party will re-nominate both the sitting Lok Sabha MPs – Shripad Naik and Narendra Sawaikar – as candidates for the North Goa and South Goa parliamentary constituencies respectively. As far as the by-polls to the Mandrem and Shiroda assembly segments are concerned, the party has decided to field Sopte and Shirodkar in their respective constituencies,” he announced.

The state BJP will officially announce the candidates for the Lok Sabha elections and the three assembly by-elections by March 19 after getting the nod from party’s central parliamentary board.

Share this article if you wish