St Therese’s HS wins Mormugao district rolling trophy

St Therese’s HS wins Mormugao district rolling trophy


Mormugao District under the leadership of chief coordinator and retired scout master, Mukund Kambli organised the Goa Bharat Scouts and Guides state rally. Around 600 scouts and guides from across Goa participated in the rally.

The rally was flagged off from three different points - St Andrew’s Institute, Vasco, Busy Bee High School, Desterro and St Therese’s High School, Mangor Hill and culminated at Bhute Bhatt ground. The scouts and guides of the eight districts of Goa were equally divided at the three points and along with respective scout masters and guide captains, marched displaying placards and shouting slogans creating awareness of cleanliness, drug abuse, coal pollution, protecting the environment and traffic safety.

Chief guest for fest was Colonel Manjit Singh Niranjan who served in the Indian Army for 25 years. Also present was Mormugao district chief commissioner, Prakash Sangvekar who unfurled the scouts and guides flag while Niranjan declared the fest open.

In his address Niranjan requested the scouts and guides to observe one minute silence for the CRPF jawans killed in the Pulwama terror attack.

On display were projects like watch tower, see saw bridge, Burma bridge; swing adventure activities like tyre rack and cycling; and indigenous games like tabblam, budiamnim, logorio (7 tiles) and fotash or pop gun. Students from New Dawn Ashadeep Special School, Vasco also participated in the fest.

Chief guest for the cultural programme was councillor of Mormugao municipal council, Vasco, Krishna Salkar. The programme included a welcome song and folk dances like dhanjar, kunbi, mando, kholi and dekhni presented by the eight districts.

In his address Salker instructed students to remain happy in every situation and to keep the environment and surroundings clean and green.

The Mormugao District rolling trophy was awarded to St Therese’s High School, Mangor Hill; second place was won by Mata Secondary School, Vasco while third place was secured by Murgao High School, Sada.