Sawaikar files nomination papers

Sawaikar files nomination papers




Sitting MP and BJP candidate for the South Goa parliamentary seat Narendra Sawaikar on Thursday filed his nomination papers, as the poll panel issued notification for the elections to both the Lok Sabha seats as well as the byelections to the Mandrem, Shiroda, and Mapusa assembly constituencies to be held on April 23, 2019.

Sawaikar, who filed his papers before the district returning officer, was accompanied by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, state BJP president Vinay Tendulkar, North Goa MP Shripad Naik, Goa Forward Party president and Deputy Chief Minister Vijai Sardesai and BJP legislators.

Speaking after filing his nomination papers, Sawaikar expressed confidence of retaining the seat.

Earlier, BJP workers took out a march from the BJP office to the office of the South Goa collector.

Sardesai and Urban Development Minister Milind Naik proposed the name of Sawaikar as he filed two sets of nomination papers.

Power Minister Nilesh Cabral filed nomination papers as a dummy candidate.

Speaking to reporters, the Chief Minister said the people of South Goa are with the BJP as they have seen development in the last five years, adding that the MP has been instrumental in taking government schemes to the people.

Sardesai said that he has extended his support to the candidate to uphold the coalition ‘dharma’, adding that he will actively campaign to ensure the victory of Sawaikar.

Panchayat Minister Mauvin Godinho, who will head the campaigning in South Goa, maintained that the BJP will retain the seat.

The issuance of the notification by the poll panel ushered in the filing of nomination papers in the state, and Sawaikar was the first nominee to file the nomination papers.

April 4 will be the last day for filing the nomination papers.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place on April 5, and the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers will be April 8.

Polling will take place on April 23, and the votes will be counted on May 23.

The polling will be conducted in 1,652 polling stations across the state in both the parliamentary constituencies.

It is pertinent to note here that the ECI has not clubbed the Panaji bypoll with the three other assembly constituencies.

A senior officer from the office of the chief electoral officer said that the ECI has deputed general observers and an expenditure observer for the state, and they are expected to arrive in the state in the next two days.