The Navhind Times Archive

Anjuna Gymkhana Reira champs

SALIGAO: Anjuna Gymkhana Sports Club won the 12th Reira Soccer Cup organized by Saligao Sporting Club as they registered a 7-6 win via the tiebreaker over PVC Parra Sports Club, played at Saligao grounds, here on Sunday.

At the end of the regulation time the teams were locked  1-1 .

It was Anjuna colts that drew the first blood in the very 3rd minute as Rohan Kambli, slammed the ball into the goal from an acute angle. It did not take long for Parra to level terms as they scored from the penalty spot.Felix D’Souza was brought down inside the penalty box by Abhishek, prompting referee to point to the dreaded spot. Rowen Pinto stepped forward and scored, 1-1.

On crossing over both the teams played almost on equal footing but their strikers failed to score due to superb keeping by both the custodians.

Finally the winners had to be decided via tiebreaker where Anjuna colts proved to be better shooters winning 6-5.

Rohan Kambli, Dinesh Moraskar, Akshay Dabholkar, Soma Korgaokar, Nitesh Salgaonkar and Tanay Naik scoredfor the winners in the penalty shootout while Rowell Pinto, Felix D’Souza, Waldran Martins, Ritesh Maulikar and Joaquim Pacheco scored for the losers.

The following individual prizes were awarded:Best Defender – Akshay Dabholkar;Best Half – Rowen Pinto;Best Forward – Abhishek Tuemkar, ;Best Goalkeeper – Babu of Anjuna;Farewell goal of the tournament – Tanay Naik of Anjuna.

Jayesh Salgaonkar MLA & Minister for Housing was the Chief Guest; Atmaram Fulari was the Guest of honour. Daryl Pereira Presided, while Tony Remedios proposed the vote of thanks.

Share this article if you wish